Capstone Resources

This list is designed to help you find resources for a capstone project or an Office of Sustainability grant project (or both).

The tags below are clickable.

Transportation
walking
bike
public transit
complete streets
Water
water conservation
stormwater
Waste
recycling
reuse
landfill
compost
e-waste
zero waste
Energy
solar
wind
energy efficiency
Food
food security
food waste
dining halls
Built Environment
green building
architecture
grounds
Air Quality
greenhouse gases
Beautification
art
Behavioral Change
problem solving
Biodiversity
fisheries
wildlife
ecology
forestry
animal wellbeing
urban ecology
Public Policy
governance
Residence Halls
Business
Public Health
Community
Agriculture
Show all
Name Organization Contact/URL Tags
2014 Campus Sustainability Report Office of Sustainability, Facilities Maintenance Division sustainability.uga.edu/about/reports/
Energy
Built Environment
Air Quality
energy efficiency
UGA 2020 Strategic Plan Office of Sustainability, Facilities Management Division sustainability.uga.edu/about/reports/
Energy
Built Environment
Air Quality
Kevin Kirsche Office of Sustainability, Facilities Management Division kkirsche@uga.edu
Built Environment
Community
grounds
Jason Perry Office of Sustainability, Facilities Management Division jcperry@uga.edu
Transportation
Energy
bike
complete streets
Built Environment
greenhouse gases
David Spradley Facilities Management Division dspradle@uga.edu
Energy
energy efficiency
Reid Ferrero Grounds Department, Facilities Management Division reidof@uga.edu
grounds
Annette Evans Finance and Administration amevans@uga.edu
Business
Tyra Byers Office of Sustainability, Facilities Management Division tyrab@uga.edu
Water
Star Scott Facilities Management Division starscot@uga.edu
Waste
energy efficiency
Shana Jones Carl Vinson Institute of Government shanaj@uga.edu
Water
water conservation
Bryan Varin Dining Services bvarin@uga.edu
Food
dining halls
Don Walter UGA Transportation and Parking Services dwalter@uga.edu
Transportation
public transit
Office of Sustainability Interns Office of Sustainability sustainability.uga.edu/interns
Transportation
Water
Waste
zero waste
Energy
Food
Residence Halls
art
Behavioral Change
Public Health
Andrew Lentini Office of Sustainability, Facilities Management Division alentini@uga.edu
Behavioral Change
Andrew Saunders Athens Clarke County Government andrew.saunders@athensclarkecounty.com
Community
Athens Land Trust admin@athenslandtrust.org
Built Environment
Community
grounds
urban ecology
Office of University Architects architects.uga.edu
Built Environment
Discover Abroad discoverabroad@uga.edu
Business
Behavioral Change
animal wellbeing
Sustainable Food Systems Initiative http://sustainablefoodsystems.uga.edu/
Food
Georgia River Network garivers.org
Water
Let Us Compost letuscompost@gmail.com
compost
Upper Oconee Watershed Network info@uown.org
Water
water conservation
stormwater
Oconee River Land Trust oconeeriverlandtrust.org
Water
water conservation
stormwater
Ideas for Creative Exploration (ICE) art.uga.edu/research/ideas-creative-exploration
art
Watershed UGA watershed@uga.edu
Water
water conservation
stormwater
Bag the Bag bagthebaguga@gmail.com
Waste
recycling
reuse
Society for Conservation Biology - The Georgia Chapter georgiascb@gmail.com
Biodiversity
Society of American Foresters - Forestry Club https://www.warnell.uga.edu/undergraduate/clubs-and-organizations/saf-forestry-club
forestry
Society of Environmental Engineers at UGA http://www.engineering.uga.edu/current/student-organizations/SEE
Built Environment
energy efficiency
Students for Environmental Action ugasea15@gmail.com
Community
UGArden Club garden.uga@gmail.com
Food
USGBC uga.collegiatelink.net/organization/USGBC
Built Environment
green building
Campus Bicycle Repair Coop ibiketoschool@gmail.com
Transportation
bike
The Campus Kitchen at UGA ckuga@uga.edu
Food
food security
food waste
Community
Speak Out for Species sos@uga.edu
animal wellbeing
Society for Women in Technology swtatuga@gmail.com
e-waste
solar
wind
Student Dietetic Association http://www.fcs.uga.edu/ssac/student-dietetic-association
Public Health
Real Food UGA realfooduga@gmail.com
Food
food security
Volunteer UGA vugaexec@gmail.com
Community
Engineers Without Borders - UGA Chapter ewb-pres@uga.edu
green building
architecture
Warnell Graduate Student Association warnellgsa@gmail.com
water conservation
Peer Nutrition Educators PNE_UGA@yahoo.com
Food
The Energy Concept @ UGA https://uga.collegiatelink.net/organization/energyconcept
Energy
Environmental Health Science Club clubehs@gmail.com
Public Health
Food 2 Kids http://www.food4kidshamilton.ca/
food security
food waste
Habitat for Humanity at UGA ugahabitat@gmail.com
green building
architecture
The Horticulture Club @ UGA ugahortclub2014@gmail.com
green building
Horticulture Graduate Student Association http://students.caes.uga.edu/current/clubs/horticulture-graduate-student-association.html
Biodiversity
The Lunchbox Garden Project lunchboxgarden@gmail.com
Food
Community
Plant Biology Graduate Students Association pbgsa@plantbio.uga.edu
Biodiversity
Student Environmental Planning Association at UGA planningUGA@gmail.com
green building
architecture
Keep Athens-Clarke County Beautiful stacee.farrell@athensclarkecounty.com
compost
Beautification
Athens Farmers Market marketmanager@athensfarmersmarket.net
Food
food security
food waste
Public Health
Community
Whatever it Takes at UGA witatuga@gmail.com
Community
Athens Farm to School athensfarmtoschool@gmail.com
food security
food waste
Public Health
UGAscWDA ugascwda@gmail.com
animal wellbeing
EcoReps 706-542-4514
Residence Halls
Athens Area Emergency Food Bank http://aaefb.blogspot.com/
food security
Athens Transit http://athensclarkecounty.com/199/Transit
public transit
The Sparrow's Nest http://sparrowsnestmission.org/contact-us/
Public Health
Oconee Rivers Audubon Society
Biodiversity
animal wellbeing
Georgia Climate Change Coalition http://www.georgiaclimatecoalition.org/
greenhouse gases
Community
The State Botanical Garden Garden@uga.edu
grounds
Federation of Neighborhoods contact@accneighborhoods.org
Community