Public Access to Trail Creek

Summary:

Watershed UGA needs a dedicated student or student team to help "daylight" some of UGA's hidden streams.

Contact: Watershed UGA Community Outreach Liaison Scott Pippin (jspippin@uga.edu). 

Details:

Much of Trail Creek and its tributaries are underground as are the streams that run through campus.  And where it does run above ground, it is not easily accessible as it runs through private property.  Walk the creek and/or follow it on google maps and help us map and identify opportunities and partners for projects (restoration, invasive species removal, art, etc.) that provides access (visual if not physical) to the streams. Resources: Nine-Element Watershed Management Plan for Trail Creek (on the Watershed UGA website under “resources” then “files”); Watershed UGA Community Outreach Liaison Scott Pippin (jspippin@uga.edu). 

Resource list

Name Organization Contact/URL Tags
Tyra Byers Office of Sustainability, Facilities Management Division tyrab@uga.edu
Water
Shana Jones Carl Vinson Institute of Government shanaj@uga.edu
Water
water conservation
Office of Sustainability Interns Office of Sustainability sustainability.uga.edu/interns
Transportation
Water
Waste
zero waste
Energy
Food
Residence Halls
art
Human Dimensions
Public Health
Georgia River Network garivers.org
Water
Upper Oconee Watershed Network info@uown.org
Water
water conservation
stormwater
Oconee River Land Trust oconeeriverlandtrust.org
Water
water conservation
stormwater
Watershed UGA watershed@uga.edu
Water
water conservation
stormwater
Kevin Kirsche Office of Sustainability, Facilities Management Division kkirsche@uga.edu
Built Environment
Community
grounds
Students for Environmental Action ugasea15@gmail.com
Community
The Campus Kitchen at UGA ckuga@uga.edu
Food
food security
food waste
Community
Volunteer UGA vugaexec@gmail.com
Community
The Lunchbox Garden Project lunchboxgarden@gmail.com
Food
Community
Athens Farmers Market marketmanager@athensfarmersmarket.net
Food
food security
food waste
Public Health
Community
Whatever it Takes at UGA witatuga@gmail.com
Community
Georgia Climate Change Coalition http://www.georgiaclimatecoalition.org/
greenhouse gases
Community
Federation of Neighborhoods contact@accneighborhoods.org
Community
Athens Land Trust admin@athenslandtrust.org
Built Environment
Community
grounds
urban ecology
Andrew Saunders Athens Clarke County Government andrew.saunders@athensclarkecounty.com
Community